Skip to content
January 12, 2015 / carlispina

Who Is Headed To ALA Midwinter?

MW15_ImSpeakingThis year the ALA Midwinter Meeting will be held from January 30th through February 3rd in Chicago and I’ll be there!  I’d love to meet up with other librarians at the conference and while I’m there I will be leading a meeting of ASCLA’s Library Services for People with Visual or Physical Disabilities that Prevent Them from Reading Standard Print (LSPVD) interest group on Saturday from 4:30PM to 5:30PM. If you are interested in learning more about the IG, feel free to join us!

I’ll also be speaking twice during the conference. On Sunday, I am excited to be one of the panelists at LITA’s Top Technology Trends event. This is a great event where a diverse group of librarians highlight important technology trends that they believe will have an impact on libraries and I am looking forward to sharing my thoughts and learning from my co-presenters. If you won’t be at ALA Midwinter, you can still watch the panel as it will be streamed on the Top Technology Trends website and archived there for later viewing as well. The site will also have panelist biographies and event information before the conference, so check back soon to learn more about the panel.

Finally, on Monday, I will be delivering an Ignite Session entitled Creative Commons Crash Course. Though Ignite Sessions are quite short, I will strive to give an overview of the issues surrounding Creative Commons licenses, including how librarians can share their resources under these licenses and find CC licensed media for use in their own work. This session will also be recorded and available online after the conference, but, in the meantime, you can also check out the resource guide I have created on the topic for a small glimpse at Creative Commons resources.

I would love to see people at any (or all!) of these events, but I would also love to hear from anyone who is headed to ALA Midwinter who would be interested in meeting up at some point during the conference.

Leave a Reply

