Skip to content
May 13, 2012 / carlispina

See Me This Summer!

This post will be a departure from my previous posts because I am excited to share my plans to participate at two different conferences this summer. First, I will be speaking at the Amigos Library Services’ online conference on June 8th. The title of the conference is Access by Touch and Gesture: Delivering Library Services through Devices and Mobile Technologies and you can read the summary of my presentation and those of all of the other great presenters on the conference website.

Then, at the end of June, I will be at the ALA Annual Conference and Exhibition in Anaheim, CA. While there, I will be presenting the results of my Emerging Leaders project, together with the rest of Team D. I am really excited to discuss our work and see what all of the other teams have been working on since ALA Midwinter. While at ALA Annual, I will also be presenting a poster on the Library Analytics Toolkit that has been developed as part of the Harvard Library Lab project that I have been working on. I look forward to sharing our work with other librarians and getting feedback about the final product. I am also really looking forward to the first program of the new LITA/ALCTS Library Code Year Interest Group! Ever since our informal meetup at ALA Midwinter, I have been looking forward to starting the interest group and meeting with other librarians who want to improve their computer programming skills and discussing how these skills can be used to benefit libraries. As I have continued to get more involved in Code Year, my interest in this project has only grown, so I truly can’t wait to see how our meeting goes and hear other librarians’ experiences learning and using computer programming.

After I return from Anaheim, I will only have a few short weeks before AALL comes to Boston for the 105th Annual Meeting & Conference. There I will be teaching a full-day pre-conference workshop entitled Going Mobile: Building Mobile Applications together with Karina Condra, Raquel Ortiz and Amy Deschenes. During the conference, I will also be speaking with Anna Russell at a presentation entitled Scanning the Future: QR Codes in Law Libraries. After attending my first AALL Annual Meeting and Conference last year, I am very excited to have an opportunity to present at this year’s conference.

I hope to see and meet a lot of people at both of these conferences. Let me know if you will be attending either or both of them!

Leave a Reply

